Cycling · Health

Why am I still fat and metabolism

Life is not fair – Thin, fat and metabolism

Weight has always been my obsession since early age. The critical point was when I high school.

High school, yeah the period of insecure self-image and peer comparison. I never dared to wear jeans because of big legs, jealous of rising female school beauty stars. But that is pretty much everyone of us. I just went a bit further out of stupidity spectrum. One day, after a binge-eating evening, I looked at mirror realizing that Doaremon is actually not fiction. Too depressed with that fact, I held my face, decided to skip classes to…go to the jungle behind my house in the countryside so that I do not have to see anyone else, including my parents on that day and returning home exactly at usual off-class hours. That actually happened. :)))

Of course, when I got out of the jungle, nothing changed: my face still looked like a Chinese Bun.

fat face

 

However, other than observing anxiously if my pants get looser to sign a relief, or my face gets chubbier to get anxious, I have never really did any researching to break down some very health principles. Why do some people lose weight easier than others? Why some gain weight easily and need constant exercise increase (energy)  yet some east like elephants but remain slim?

Why? Why ? I just wanna cry. Then I found out the criminal called metabolism

Metabolism – who are you?

Metabolism is a criminal. He must be born in Greece because his original name is “Metabole” which means “Change” in Greek. He is a change agent in our body. He can be friend or foe. You better be friend of him.

What are you doing to my body?

We can compare human body with a car. Just that we are more efficient than internal combustion engines because our muscles can turn chemical energy into work without making our body hotter than the external environment.

A car takes up petrol to run the moving engines and exhales fume, while us humans take up food for physical and mental activities.

Sim­ply put, metab­o­lism is the body’s way of con­vert­ing food into energy, and then using that energy to sus­tain and build the body.

(Personalfitness)

Crash Course did an excellent video (by which I mean videos I can understand ha ha) about metabolism. I find no better way then breaking it down to help me understand.

                    Our body needs energy for physical and mental activities. So we need input (Food)1. Food

To turn food into energy, our body need chemical reactions

There are 2 kinds of chemical reactions

catabolic reaction

anabolic reaction

Still confused aren’t you? Forget about this bolicikik term, we can just consider it as this: to build something (anabolic reactions), we need to demolish something (catabolic reactions)

Together with digestive system, these processes make up metabolism

together

funny

funny 2

Do skinnier people have higher metabolism?

To be fair there are people with opposite concerns: they seem to burn energy so fast that they are underweight constantly. But I am not one of them so I do not care.

What makes the difference is not body weight but the muscles in your body. Relatively speaking, bigger people also have more muscles inside the body (other than fat) so we burn a lot of calories while at rest. So it iis not metabolism to blame. What nobody wants to admits is that us fat people tend to underestimate the amount of food we consume (maybe due to psychological self-deception)

Other than this, there are so many factors that define our metabolism, body type, some overactive gland. If we smoke or under stress, we also burn calories faster (that is why smokers gain weight after they quit smoking).

 

How to boost metabolism

So it boils down to the main question, how do we boost our metabolism in 3 main areas of life energy channel: energy intake (food), rest and activities?

 

Due to laziness, I decide to copy this inforgraphic from Shutterstock. Maybe some of the tips are myths too ha ha but for now, I want to believe they are true ^^

stock-vector-tips-to-boost-metabolism-infographic-health-tips-for-healthy-lose-weight-vector-illustration-302556968

This topic is worth digging deeper because it will linger forever, until we die.

 

Reference:

http://www.news-medical.net/life-sciences/What-is-Metabolism.aspx

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/8871.php

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metabolism

http://physics.stackexchange.com/questions/59316/human-as-a-heat-engine

 

Leave a Reply

