Music

I want to take you somewhere but…

“I wanna take you somewhere so you know I care
But it’s so cold and I don’t know where
I brought you daffodils in a pretty string
But they won’t flower like they did last spring”

**
And I wanna kiss you, make you feel alright
I’m just so tired to share my nights
I wanna cry and I wanna love
But all my tears have been used up

**

The lyrics is so beautiful, so poetic, but I never noticed before. Tom Odell’s cold face, blunt stare make all this so beautifully sad. Love is still there, but dried up like his tears. The heart is still there, longing for another person. The melancholy blues sneak into every corner of the room they have spent so many memories together. Fresh daffodils in the vase fade away as the music becomes more dramatic. He wants to cry, his legs tremble and the room is painted with yellow to dark light. He still cannot move out of the chair.

A very artful way to say “I no longer love you”.

**
His lover tries hard to get his attention in many forms – tender affection, screaming, explanation, persuasion. All is in vain simply because:

And I’d sing a song, that’d be just ours
But I sang ’em all to another heart
And I wanna cry I wanna learn to love
But all my tears have been used up

**
The topic of love being dried up for some reasons or no clear reasons has been explored in many art forms and seem to never get old.

What if Tom experiences love being dried up himself, what would he write?

Leave a Reply

